How to Check if Your Car is BS4 or BS6 compliant?

Delhi Pollution BS3 petrol BS4 diesel ban
By - Manjul Sharma
November 9, 2023

Currently, the rising pollution in Delhi NCR is one of the gravest concerns for the residents and the Delhi government. As a first step to combat the situation, the state government has implemented Stage-4 GRAP (Graded Response Action Plan) which is a temporary ban on BS3 and BS4 diesel vehicles until December 9, 2023. In addition to that, the government has announced the Odd-Even vehicle rule which will start on 13th November and end on 20th November. Like the earlier times, the traffic police are on the lookout for commuters not following the rules and the offenders are being fined up to Rs 20,000. Irrespective of such legal consequences, it is important and even more so, a duty towards Mother Earth to know that if your car is BS4 or BS6 compliant. In this article, we explain the methods to know if your car is BS4 or B6 compliant.

How to Check if your car is BS4 or BS6 compliant?

Registration Certificate

When you purchase a vehicle, you receive a registration certificate with it. Earlier it used to be a one-page document, now it usually is in the form of a small card. On most of the RC cards, the emission compliance is written beside the maker’s class or the model section.

RTO Form 21

To get a vehicle registered, a duly filled Form 21 is submitted to the state RTO. The emission compliance is mentioned on Form 21; either beside the car’s name or in front of the stipulation named ‘fitted with/fitted with compliance.

ALSO READ: BS4 vs BS6 – What is the Difference?

Manufacturing Date

On both above-mentioned documents, you can find the car’s manufacturing date. Thereafter, you can take the manufacturing date to the internet and search when production of the specific car began. For example, the BS4-compliant Maruti Brezza was launched in 2016.

Bharat Stage Standard

Make Year


Bharat Stage I


All India

Bharat Stage II


Delhi NCR, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, & 8 cities


All India

Bharat Stage III


Delhi NCR, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, & 8 cities


All India

Bharat Stage IV


Delhi NCR, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, & 8 cities


All India

Bharat Stage VI


Delhi NCR


All India

Decode your Car’s VIN

Those who have not received their car documents can check the emission compliance with the help of the Vehicle Identification Number/ VIN. The VIN is an alpha-numeric code that, in coded form, consists of essential details of the car. You can find the VIN on the car’s dashboard on the driver’s side, under the hood of the car near the engine, under the spare wheel in the car’s boot, under the front grille, on the driver’s side door, or on the rear wheels. Here is what each character of the VIN denotes, and the ninth and tenth digit of your car’s VIN will give you the month and year of manufacture of your car. Using this information, you can check your car’s Bharat Stage emission compliance.


In the wake of such alarming pollution levels, it is scrupulous to take necessary steps to improve air quality. And following the recently implemented rules that include a temporary ban on BS3 and BS4 diesel vehicles, is a good step in the right direction. In case you are unaware of your car’s emission compliance, this article will educate you on all the methods to find it.


  1. What are Bharat Stage emission standards?

    Bharat stage emission standards (BSES) are emission norms instituted by the Indian government to regulate the output of air pollutants from internal combustion engines (ICE).

  2. Where can I find the BS compliance of my car?

    You can find the Bharat stage compliance of your car on your car’s registration certificate, RTO Form 21, and with the help of the manufacturing date and VIN.

  3. When was BS4 implemented?

    The BS4 was implemented in April 2017.

  4. Which Tata cars are compliant with the BS6 Phase 2?

    All Tata cars- Tiago, Altroz, Punch, Tigor, Nexon, Harrier, and Safari follow the BS6 Phase 2.

  5. What is VIN?

    A VIN is an alpha-numeric code that consists of 17 characters (digits and capital letters) that act as a unique identifier for the vehicle. A VIN displays the car’s important specifications and manufacturer.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real Driving Emission (RDE) Norms: All You Need To Know
Delhi Car Deregistration: Everything you need to know
Real Driving Emission (RDE) Norms: All You Need To Know
Delhi Car Deregistration: Everything you need to know
New Driving Licence Rules: Driving Test at RTO Not Mandatory
April 2024: Top Selling Compact SUVs in India
April 2024: Top Selling SUVs in India
April 2024: Top Selling Mahindra Cars

A-Z Glossary

Every car part & feature, explained


The latest from the automotive world

Best Cars

The crème de la crème of cars

Rules & Regulations

Every law & regulation, explained

Car Ownership

Everyday car-care tips & advice

Buying a car

Make the right buying decision

Selling a car

Make the right selling decision


Cars & eveything in-between

5,000,000+ Readers

We’re ❤️ne big family!

Follow us for accurate, impartial & up-to-date information around everything related to cars – Latest news & developments, best options for every budget & lifestyle, ownership tips, buying & selling advice and a lot more on Spinny Magazine.


Read honest, impartial & up-to date information about everything cars – latest news, car reviews, buying & selling advice, car-care tips & more at Spinny Post.

Get Social With Us

Scroll to Top

Want to Sell your Car?

Choose your brand below to get started: